top of page
  • Writer's pictureallisonhall

A glimpse of a student in her own design challenge

After creating a design challenge to implement in my future classroom, I then took my chance and completed this project as a student. I learned a lot about my assignment.

Here is the PSA that I created.


I used Thinglink to create an interactive tool where the audience could find other resources and tools in reading The Hate U Give. I honestly had some difficulty in creating this, especially since I did not have the book on hand to offer textual evidence. I would have marked myself down in that area.


I really enjoyed being able to choose how I will demonstrate my learning. However, what I found to be difficult were the reasons why I feel like this design challenge would be most successful in my own classroom. First and foremost, I created this individually. I feel like peer engagement and bouncing ideas off of associates is useful in brainstorming. The connected learning framework in that each student's strength can maximize the potential of the project rings true. My PSA would be a lot better with some peer support. I also created this project in a time span that amounts to a lot less then two-weeks time. If I had the time that my students will have to create this PSA, I feel like my final project would be wonderful. Maybe I will take the time to do this over the Summer.


Incorporating my design challenge into my future classroom will be a lot more successful than completing it individually, I think. Having the opportunity to interact with peers, in-person and online, will increase student engagement.


I am very glad that I completed this design challenge outside of my classroom. I can now provide a specific example to students. I can also tweak the things that didn't work for me as a learner, and improve my design challenge to increase benefits for my students.


0 comments
bottom of page