top of page
  • Writer's pictureallisonhall

A Lesson Plan for Connected Learning

This lesson plan from Kathy Wickline creates an atmosphere most definitely involved in connected learning. After studying haiku's with her class with this interactive website, students write their own and animate using the Animoto app.


I really think this lesson plan does a wonderful job of integrating the elements of connected learning. First and foremost, it is interest-driven, where students have the opportunity to write a haiku about anything they want. If I was teaching this lesson, I would consider going outside when writing to gather inspiration. The video-making process also allows for engagement, as there is a lot of freedom surrounding how they make their video. This lesson is also production centered, as students are able to actively experiment with the technology at hand to produce a final project. There is a shared purpose in creating an animated version of your haiku, and it is openly networked when they get to share their product on the class website,


I explored a couple different lesson plans that used digital literacy, however, I felt like this one best represented multiple aspects of connected learning in the classroom. I could definitely see myself using this lesson in my classroom, but I would integrate an increased prominence of peer-centered engagement.

0 comments
bottom of page