top of page
  • Writer's pictureallisonhall

Afternoon Pages: What's your 3-foot "circle of Influence"?

As a beginning teacher, it's overwhelming to think about the positive impacts you can have on people. How will I make a difference? What steps do I need to take? Will anyone even recognize the influences I have?


Reading "Your 3-foot Circle of Influence", it is important to understand that there is so much possible impact within your reach, even as a beginning teacher. Even if you just create an influence that is 3-feet in diameter, you will still have made a difference. And then the people that were within your influence will go on to create an impact within their circle. So, technically, your 3-foot "circle of Influence" is boundless.


As I make my way through the world, I aim to be a positive, caring, and kind role model for my students. Especially in becoming a teacher ally, I want to be the kind of person that students can connect with, and look back at five years down the line, and say, "You know, Miss Hall is a teacher that really had a positive influence in my life."


It's so much more than content. And it's so much more than pedagogy. It's creating meaningful relationships with your students and colleagues in order to broaden your "circle of Influence" from 3-feet to the world.

0 comments
bottom of page