top of page
  • Writer's pictureallisonhall

Connected Learning Changes Lives

Exploring CLAlliance and watching this video, I have discovered that connected learning "is learning in an age of abundant access to information and social connection that embraces the diverse backgrounds and interests of all young people". It is the collaboration between interests, meaningful relationships, and opportunities of growth to support students' learning and encourage engagement.


Why should you design connected learning opportunities for your future students as opposed to more traditional lessons and assignments, and what would that look like if you did?


The title of this blog isn't too exaggerative. Connected learning does change lives. Giving students outlets of learning that interest them and provide opportunities for them to grow in relationships with peers and mentors, as well as grow in understanding the (real)world around them, makes them feel as if they have a stake in the classroom. Feeling a purpose in learning draws students in and gives them inspiration to be amibitous and motivated learners. I feel like learning - at least for me - gives people a new and positive (for the most part) outlook on life.


I hope that if I integrate connected learning projects and policies within my classroom, students will want to learn (at least these are my hopes). There will be a classroom culture set up where we support each other in our growth, and celebrate that we have the opportunity to make the most out of our learning. (And I am saying we because I am sure I will learn SO much from my students)



0 comments
bottom of page