top of page
  • Writer's pictureallisonhall

Connected Learning in YOUR Classroom

After exploring aspects of connected learning, and coming to understand how awesome and engaging it can be, I know I NEED to integrate it into my future classroom. It creates wonderful opportunities of connecting relevant matters in the world to learning for my students, as well as me (as I consider myself a forever-learner). But how do I best implement connected learning within my own classroom? How do I ensure that all elements of connected learning are met? And most importantly, how do I know that the way I am teaching and implementing this practice benefits my students?


I have not found all of the answers or solutions, but I sure have found some wonderful resources. These are some stepping stones to exploring my prior questions:


Katie McCay in "Today’s Reasons Why We Need Students to Write for Authentic Audiences" describes all of the possibilities and potential benefits when students share their voices with the world. Six teachers within her PLN created culminating projects with students that resulted in some sort of publication. Their projects definitely incorporate multiple elements of connected learning as students work with peers to revise a piece that they were interested in publishing, and eventually a network is created for students to participate in. The main takeaway that I received from this is that your lesson plan/unit doesn't have to incorporate all pieces on the connected learning checklist. Your students will still benefit if only a few of these are addressed.


"OneCity Stories: Connected Learning, Empowered Writers" by Katie O'Daniels depicts a writing program held for a variety of students from a diverse set of neighborhoods in St. Louis. A summer program that culminates in a showcase of students' accomplishments is a wonderful example of connected learning. Not only do students get to choose the project that they work on, but they frequently work with peers for support, use digital media and literacy to increase opportunities, network with others from around the community, and they share a purpose of improving writing. While reading about connected learning in action and its successes, what I focused on most was how the students were benefitting. From this resource, I understand that students will show you the benefit through their engagement and interest and creation of connections with others.


While I have not figured out all of the logistics of including connected learning into my classroom, these resources have definitely provided me with a base of information.

0 comments
bottom of page